focusstill.blogg.se

Link documents in word 2007
Link documents in word 2007









It is important to keep these 'exercise' documents separate and merely link to them. I tried 'Create from New' instead of 'Create from file' when inserting my linked document, but the result was the same.

However, I don't fully understand it and I was just going by trial and error, so I'm not ruling out that the solution might be there. I tried messing around with the automatic/manual/locked link settings, but that doesn't seem to make any relevant changes. I considered linking to a protected file, which works except that I couldn't find a way to allow editing but protect against saving. you no longer have to specfically navigate to the same folder and use the same nameĪnd format to save over it, rather the change is made directly to the original template with no further confirmation. I tried linking to a Word template, but if you open a linked template, make a change, then exit and save, it actually overrides the intrinsic protection of a template, i.e. I don't want this to happen as it will mean the document can no longer The problem is, when you open the linked document, make a change and close it, it prompts you to save your changes, and a user could easily click 'yes' by accident even when warned not to. I want the user to be able to open and edit these documents, but NOT save their changes. I'm writing a formatting tutorial in Word 2007, and it includes a series of linked/embedded Word documents that are used as practical exercises.









Link documents in word 2007